L’Université de Genève rejoint l’Alliance 4EU+
  • 4EU+

The 4EU+ Alliance welcomes the University of Geneva: A new partner in building One Comprehensive Research European University

In July 2022, the integration of the University of Geneva (UNIGE, Switzerland) as a new member of the 4EU+ European University Alliance was unanimously approved by the Governing Board.

UNIGE will become a full member of the 4EU+ European University Alliance Association on 1 August 2022, strengthening 4EU+ objectives in research, teaching and transfer, while intensifying the cooperation and dialogue with stakeholders across Europe.

"With the University of Geneva we are gaining a comprehensive research university from the heart of Europe as a valuable strategic partner. Both in Switzerland and internationally, the University of Geneva enjoys an excellent reputation as an outward-looking, research-intensive university with outstanding connections in the non-university research landscape,” declares Prof. Dr Bernhard Eitel, Rector of Heidelberg University and current Chair of the 4EU+ Alliance. “Building on existing cooperation, we intend, in the coming years, to advance common strategic projects in the areas of education, mobility and research and to establish 4EU+ as an innovation driver on the European and international educational scene,“ Rector Eitel says.

The University of Geneva is one of the largest Swiss comprehensive research universities. Founded in 1559 by Jean Calvin, it ranks among the best 100 universities in the world with research strengths in life sciences, elementary particle physics, quantum physics and astrophysics. It has intensive cooperation with the locally based international organisations such as the World Health Organisation (WHO) or the European Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN), building upon its unique position at the heart of International Geneva, a world capital for multilateralism. UNIGE is at the forefront of Switzerland’s academic reputation through excellence in research and teaching. The University of Geneva is a member of various European research networks, including the League of European Research Universities (LERU) and the Coimbra Group.

"This alliance brings together some of the most widely recognised universities – all are members of the LERU or LERU/CE7– with which we already work closely both in teaching and research. We will now be able to take our projects one step further and strengthen academic mobility for our students and researchers," emphasises Prof. Dr Yves Flückiger, Rector of the University of Geneva. "Europe is facing complex challenges, like the digital transformation of society or the sustainable development goals set forth by the United Nations. They can only be met by a multidisciplinary approach, allowing researchers to work within comprehensive networks such as the one we are delighted to join today,” Rector Flückiger concludes.

The 4EU+ European University Alliance, originally 4EU, was founded in March 2018 by Charles University, Heidelberg University, Sorbonne University, and the University of Warsaw. In October 2018 it became 4EU+ with the addition of the University of Copenhagen and the University of Milan. 4EU+ is one of the university alliances that have been funded since June 2019 in the context of the Erasmus+ pilot call “European Universities”. It also received funding in the framework of Horizon 2020 with the SwafS project TRAIN4EU+.

The vision of the 4EU+ Alliance is to create One Comprehensive Research European University, contributing to the building up of the European Education and Research Areas by 2025 and beyond.



Discover our courses catalog


The Faculty of Medicine teaches the 3 cycles of medical studies: from PASS (integrated into the faculty) to the 3rd cycle including DES, DESC, DU and DIU. The lessons are given mainly on two sites: Pitié-Salpêtrière and Saint-Antoine. The faculty also provides paramedical education: speech therapy, psychomotricity and orthoptics. The Saint-Antoine site includes a midwifery school.

at the faculty of medicine

One of our riches is the diversity of students and their backgrounds. Sorbonne University is committed to the success of each of its students and offers them a wide range of training as well as support adapted to their profile and their project.

Associative life

One of our riches is the diversity of students and their backgrounds. Sorbonne University is committed to the success of each of its students.

21 393


17 527



Doctors in medecine and research


Research centers

Welcome to Sorbonne University's Faculty of Science & Engineering

A unique combination of courses and expertise

Our international study programmes are organised according to the major disciplinary areas of the faculty. They represent the graduate study programmes that are not strictly conducted in French or that could be suitable (in part) for non French-speaking students. They also reflect part of the diversity of the disciplines involved and the bi- and inter-disciplinary aspects of many of the courses we offer.


Research & Innovation

We rely on disciplinary skills and on interdisciplinary approaches to renew concepts, methods and research subjects and to focus on some of the crucial issues faced by our societies: transformations affecting the very construction of knowledge (data, AI), the treatment of complex objects (the environment, marine and ocean sciences, cultural heritage) or our contributions to addressing societal challenges (climate change, healthcare).

Study at
The Faculty of Science & Engineering

Our campuses offer different and unique experiences to our students, visitors and staff. Resources and support services are also available to ensure an equal chance at success to all.

Campus Life

In addition to the cultural activities and events organised throughout the year by our clubs and societies, the Parismus society organises numerous events, evenings and cultural visits that will help you discover France and its parisian life.







Sorbonne University's Faculty of Science & Engineering, Oriented towards excellence