Gouvernance et organisation / Conseils centraux

Central Councils

The University is administered by the President and the central councils.

Central Councils

The Councils are composed of two distinct bodies: the Board of Directors (BOD) and the Academic Council (ACC).

The latter consists of two commissions: the research commission and the commission on education and student life.

The central councils are composed of elected representatives of teaching staff, administrative staff, students and outside representatives. The student members are renewed every two years, and other representatives are renewed every four years.

The Board of Directors

It elects the president of the University for four years. Approval of the Strategic Plan, the annual report, the social report, but also votes on the budget: the prerogatives of the Board of Directors are numerous and decisive with regard to the management of the establishment. The Board of Directors is convened at least four times a year.

The Academic Council

The Academic Council, in plenary session, is an advisory body. Its remit covers the orientation of research and education policies, the institutional contract, the definition of teaching and research positions, as well as issues related to student life. The Academic Council sets up the Disciplinary Section from among its members.

The Committee on Education and University Life is consulted on educational policy and allocates the envelope of resources intended for education as allocated by the Board of Directors. It deals with questions relating to academics and the living and study conditions of students.

The Research Committee is consulted on research policy goals and shall allocate the research-funding envelope as allocated by the Board of Directors.

The members of the Board of Directors and the Academic Council of Sorbonne University were elected on 14 and 15 November 2017 for a 4-year term.

> Consult the list of elected officials on the Regulatory Acts website

How to get prepared for the new academic year 2023-2024

Discover our step-by-step guide to get ready for the start of the new academic year. Learn everything there is to know from the application process to the beginning of the first term.

Préparer ma rentrée slider


All publications

Artisans Abroad

Par Fabrice Bensimon

British Migrant Workers in Industrialising Europe, 1815-1870


25 000



bachelor degrees


master degrees




Discover our courses catalog

Health Sciences

The Faculty of Health Sciences teaches the 3 cycles of medical studies: from PASS (integrated into the faculty) to the 3rd cycle including DES, DESC, DU and DIU. The lessons are given mainly on two sites: Pitié-Salpêtrière and Saint-Antoine. The faculty also provides paramedical education: speech therapy, psychomotricity and orthoptics. The Saint-Antoine site includes a midwifery school.

Study | at the Faculty of Health Sciences

One of our riches is the diversity of students and their backgrounds. Sorbonne University is committed to the success of each of its students and offers them a wide range of training as well as support adapted to their profile and their project.

Associative life

One of our riches is the diversity of students and their backgrounds. Sorbonne University is committed to the success of each of its students.

21 393


17 527



Doctors in medecine and research


Research centers

Welcome to Sorbonne University's Faculty of Science & Engineering

A unique combination of courses and expertise

Our international study programmes are organised according to the major disciplinary areas of the faculty. They represent the graduate study programmes that are not strictly conducted in French or that could be suitable (in part) for non French-speaking students. They also reflect part of the diversity of the disciplines involved and the bi- and inter-disciplinary aspects of many of the courses we offer.


Research & Innovation

We rely on disciplinary skills and on interdisciplinary approaches to renew concepts, methods and research subjects and to focus on some of the crucial issues faced by our societies: transformations affecting the very construction of knowledge (data, AI), the treatment of complex objects (the environment, marine and ocean sciences, cultural heritage) or our contributions to addressing societal challenges (climate change, healthcare).

Study at | The Faculty of Science & Engineering

Our campuses offer different and unique experiences to our students, visitors and staff. Resources and support services are also available to ensure an equal chance at success to all.

Campus Life

In addition to the cultural activities and events organised throughout the year by our clubs and societies, the Parismus society organises numerous events, evenings and cultural visits that will help you discover France and its parisian life.







Sorbonne University's Faculty of Science & Engineering, Oriented towards excellence