Regards interdisciplinaires sur l’IA : développements, usages et enjeux sociaux

Virtual workshop - Interdisciplinary perspectives on AI: developments, uses and social issues [in French]

  • From au

  • 14:30 - 19:30
  • Online event

On Tuesday and Wednesday the 13th and 14th October, Sorbonne University, Laval University and the International Observatory on the Societal Impacts of AI and Digital Technology (OBVIA) will hold an interdisciplinary virtual workshop on the developments, uses and social issues of AI (in French).

Over two afternoons, researchers from Laval University and Sorbonne University will present six themes, from robotics to ethics, health, work, scientific integrity and social networks. 

Sophie D'Amours, rector of Laval University and Jean Chambaz, president of Sorbonne University will introduce the event. Jean-Gabriel Ganascia, president of the CNRS ethics committee for Sorbonne University, will then open the conference on 13th of October. The closing presentation at the conference on 14th of October will be presented by Jocelyn Maclure, president of the “Commission de l'éthique en science et en technologie du Québec” (Commission on Ethics of Science and Technology of Quebec) at the University of Laval. These presentations will offer a Franco-Quebecois perspective on the developments, social issues and uses of AI.  

This workshop marks the first major step in the strategic partnership between Sorbonne University and Laval University, which centers on both institutions’ commitment to society. 

The workshop will be conducted in French and is open to the public upon registration

PROGRAM

Tuesday 13th October 2020

  • Opening - 2:30 pm CEST (8:30 am EDT)
  • Panel 1 - AI and robotics in practice - 15h30 CEST (9h30 EDT)
  • Panel 2 - AI, ethics and societal issues - 17:00 CEST (11:00 EDT)
  • Panel 3 - AI, media and social networks - 18:00 CEST (12:00 EDT)
  • End of day one - 19:00 CEST (13:00 EDT)

Wednesday 14 October 2020

  • Panel 4 - AI and impacts on work - 3:30 pm CEST (8:30 am EDT)
  • Panel 5 - AI, big data and scientific integrity - 2:30 pm CEST (9:30 am EDT)
  • Panel 6 - AI and Health - 16:45 CEST (10:45 EDT)
  • Closing - 17:45 CEST (11:45 EDT)
  • End of day two- 7:30 pm CEST (1:30 pm EDT)

More information on Obvial website

Contact

Florian Lebret

International Partnerships and Projects Manager at the Department of International Development of Sorbonne Université

The faculty of medicine is closed to the public and operates according to a business continuity plan (research, pedagogy, administrative) since Monday, March 16, 2020. The closure of the faculty to the public effectively results in the cancellation of all courses in face-to-face. Research activities and vital administrative activities are maintained, under the conditions specified by the university administration in the Business Continuity Plan. Beyond the end of classroom lessons, university libraries are closed. The situation is constantly changing, staff and students are invited to consult their emails, the university intranet and the FAQ to stay informed.

All users (students and staff) have access to more precise information on a dedicated page:

Formations

Discover our catalogue of courses

Médecine

The Faculty of Medicine teaches the 3 cycles of medical studies: from PASS (integrated into the faculty) to the 3rd cycle including DES, DESC, DU and DIU. The lessons are given mainly on two sites: Pitié-Salpêtrière and Saint-Antoine. The faculty also provides paramedical education: speech therapy, psychomotricity and orthoptics. The Saint-Antoine site includes a midwifery school.

Stydy
in faculty od medecine

One of our riches is the diversity of students and their backgrounds. Sorbonne University is committed to the success of each of its students and offers them a wide range of training as well as support adapted to their profile and their project.

Associative life

One of our riches is the diversity of students and their backgrounds. Sorbonne University is committed to the success of each of its students.

21 393

users

17 527

students

715

Doctors in medecine and research

12

Research centers

Chiffres-clés